Carlos França should be chosen ambassador to Canada

Bolsonaro’s former chancellor is one of the choices Itamaraty is finalizing, also including positions in India, Israel and France

The President’s Government Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva (PT) makes the first choices for holders of Brazilian embassies. The names are closed by the team of Minister Mauro Vieira (Foreign Relations). O Power360 found that there are 13 definitions for embassies.

The main choice is Carlos França, who was Minister of Foreign Affairs in Jair Bolsonaro (PL). He should be chosen as Brazil’s ambassador in Ottawa, capital of Canada. This is a position of great importance in Brazil’s diplomatic relations.

France’s choice would be a contrast to what then-minister Ernesto Araújo, France’s predecessor in Bolsonaro’s government, did in 2020. He sent Vieira to Croatia’s capital Zagreb. Vieira had been Minister of Dilma Rousseff (PT). He returned to the office with Lula. France was wanted by Power360. He said he was on vacation and denied knowing the definition of his name for Ottawa.

These should be some of the initial indications:

  • Adrian Pucci – Manama, Bahrain)
  • Alan Coelho de Sellos – Muscat, Oman)
  • Antonio Patriot – London, United Kingdom)
  • Charles France – Ottawa (Canada)
  • Fernando Pimentel -Doha, Qatar)
  • Fernando Simas Magalhaes – The Hague (Netherlands)
  • Frederic Meyer – Tel Aviv (Israel)
  • Gala Irene Vida – Rabat, Morocco)
  • João Genesio de Almeida – Lima, Peru)
  • Kenneth da Nobrega – New Delhi, India)
  • Maria Luiza Viotti – Washington (USA)
  • Ricardo Neiva Tavares – Paris, France)
  • Ronaldo Costa – Canberra (Australia)

Patriota was Minister of Foreign Affairs from 2011 to 2013, in the government of Dilma Rousseff. He was ambassador to Italy from 2016 to 2019. In the Bolsonaro government, he became ambassador to Cairo (Egypt). It is an irrelevant position in diplomacy, like that of Vieira in Croatia.

After Itamaraty, the foreign ministry, makes the choices, the diplomats will have to get their names approved by the Senate. Sérgio Danese was announced as Brazil’s representative to the UN (United Nations), in New York. It will also have to go through the Senate.

For the Itamaraty secretariats, the following names should be chosen:

  • Secretariat for Latin America and the Caribbean – Gisele Padovan
  • Europe and North America Secretariat – Maria Luisa Escorel
  • Secretariat for Africa and the Middle East – carlos duarte
  • Secretariat for Asia and the Pacific – Eduardo Savoy
  • Secretariat for Economic and Financial Affairs – Mauricio Lyrio
  • Secretariat for Trade Promotion, Science, Technology, Innovation and Culture – Rodrigo Azeredo
  • Secretariat for Brazilian Communities and Consular and Legal Affairs – Leonardo Gorgulho
  • Secretary for Climate, Energy and the Environment – André Correa do Lago
  • Administrative Management Secretariat – Fatima Ishitani
  • Secretariat for Multilateral Political Affairs – Glivania Oliveira

Gorgulho, Ishitani and Saboia already occupy these positions and should be maintained.

Alaric Cohen

"Freelance communicator. Hardcore web practitioner. Entrepreneur. Total student. Beer ninja."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *