Argentina win London leg of men’s World Rugby Sevens Series; Australia take last place at Paris 2024

Photo: Playback/Twitter

Argentina won the London stage (GBR) of the men’s World Rugby Sevens Series on Sunday (21), the last of the 2022/2023 season.

The Argentinians had a difficult first phase, with two wins and a defeat, tied with Fiji and Ireland, but taking the top spot in Group B.

In the knockout stage they beat Ireland (28-14), Samoa (10-7) and in the decision they defeated double Olympic champion Fiji by 35-14 to win the third leg of the season.

Bronze went to Samoa, who beat New Zealand 24-19.

In the fight for the last place at the 2024 Olympics in Paris, Australia won. Even being only in 7th place in the British stage, it was enough to stay ahead of Samoa by one point (133 to 132) and qualify for the Games.

The Aussies join already-qualified New Zealand, Argentina and Fiji and hosts France.

Canada takes the last seat in 2024/2024

Team Canada secured the final berth for the 2023/2024 Rugby Sevens World Series season on Sunday.

Along with Kenya, Japan and Uruguay, the North American team contested a playoff to see who would take last place.

After the group stage, the Canadians, Kenyans and Uruguayans were tied with two wins and one loss. In the points difference tiebreaker, Canada and Kenya went to the decision.

In the match that decided the vacancy, the Canadians won 12-7 and remained in the Rugby 7s World Series for the following season.

Benjamin Allen

"Evil pop culture fanatic. Extreme bacon geek. Food junkie. Thinker. Hipster-friendly travel nerd. Coffee buff."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *