Sainz surprises at the British GP and takes the 1st pole position of his F1 career – Jornal do Oeste

The qualifying sessions for the British GP ended in historic fashion for Spaniard Carlos Sainz, who took his first pole position of his Formula 1 career on Saturday. At 27, in his eighth season and 150th Grand Prix, the Ferrari driver managed to overtake championship leader Max Verstappen on his last lap to confirm his unprecedented pole in the rain at the Silverstone circuit.

“Thank you so much to everyone who stayed here in this rain to support me. It was a very good lap, I struggled because it was easy for the car to lose the rear. Pole came as a surprise. I think I can win, the pace is very good all weekend, I’m sure the opponents will put a lot of pressure tomorrow,” Sainz said after the race.

Sainz’s time was 1min40s983, just 73 hundredths ahead of Verstappen. The Spaniard had already led the second free practice last Friday. The second row is launched by another Ferrari driver, Charles Leclerc, with a time of 1min41s298, followed closely by the Mexican Sergio Perez. Lewis Hamilton, who had a good weekend, is fifth, followed by his compatriot Lando Norris of McLaren.

Fernando Alonso, George Russell, Zhou Guanyu and Nicolhas Latifi complete the top 10. After a string of errors Max Verstappen struggled early in Q3, the Dutchman still managed to set the fastest time and delivered a exciting fight for pole position in the last laps.

After the third free practice with a still dry track, qualifying began in pouring rain on the Silverstone circuit during Q1. It didn’t take long for the rain to calm down and Q2 started with a slightly drier track, but still drizzly. Q2 ended with a lot of celebrations for the Williams team. For the first time this season, Nicholas Latifi qualified for Q3. The Canadian will start 10th.

Discover the order of qualifications this Saturday:

1st – Carlos Sainz (ESP/Ferrari) – 1min40s983

2nd – Max Verstappen (HOL/Red Bull) – 1min41s055

3rd – Charles Leclerc (MON/Ferrari) – 1min41s298

4th – Sergio Pérez (MEX/Red Bull) – 1min41s616

5th – Lewis Hamilton (ENG/Mercedes) – 1min41s995

6th – Lando Norris (CAN/McLaren) – 1min42s084

7th – Fernando Alonso (ESP/Alpine) – 1min42s116

8th – George Russell (ENG/Mercedes) – 1min42s161

9th – Zhou Guanyu (CHI/Alfa Romeo) – 1min42s719

10th – Nicolas Latifi (CAN/Williams) – 2min03s095

11th – Pierre Gasly (FRA/AlphaTauri) – 1min43s702

12th – Valtteri Bottas (FIN / Alfa Romeo) – 1min44s232

13th – Yuki Tsunoda (JAP/AlphaTauri) – 1min44s311

14th – Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/McLaren) – 1min44s355

15th – Esteban Ocon (FRA / Alpine) – 1min45s190

16th – Alexandre Albon (TAI / Williams) – 1min42s078

17th – Kevin Magnussen (DIN/Haas) – 1min42s159

18th – Sebastian Vettel (ALE / Aston Martin) – 1min42s666

19th – Mick Schumacher (ALE / Haas) – 1min42s708

20th – Lance Stroll (CAN/Aston Martin) – 1min43s430

Elmer Hayward

"Pop culture fan. Coffee expert. Bacon nerd. Infuriatingly humble communicator. Friendly gamer."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *